Axelsen, Tai Tzu Ying win BWF Player of the Year Awards

Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen and Chinese Taipei’s Tai Tzu Ying were named male and female player of the year respectively by the Badminton World Federation (BWF) on Friday.

Due to disruption caused by COVID-19 over the past two years, the period of consideration for the awards was from November 2019 until 31 October 2021.

BWF World Tour Finals 2021: Sindhu loses to Chochuwong in final group tie

Starting from the Barcelona Spain Masters in February 2020, world number one Axelsen made 10 out of 11 finals and won seven of them including the Olympic gold in Tokyo this summer.

Tai Tzu Ying clinched the All England Open title in 2020 and followed it up by reaching all three finals at the three-tournament Asian Leg in January 2021. She also won the BWF World Tour Finals in 2020 and grabbed silver at Tokyo Olympics.

The BWF Awards Commission made special mention of Guatemalan Kevin Cordon for his journey across four Olympic Games and incredible run to the semifinals in Tokyo where he lost to Axelsen.

Here’s the complete list of award winners-

Male Player of the Year: Viktor Axelsen

Female Player of the Year: Tai Tzu Ying

Most improved player of the Year: Lee Yang and Wang Chi-Lin

Pair of the Year: Greysia Polii and Apriyani Rahayu

Eddy Choong Most Promising Player: Kunlavut Vitidsarn

Male Para Badminton Player of the Year: Qu Zimo

Female Para Badminton Player of the Year: Leani Ratri Oktila

Para Badminton Pair of the Year: Lucas Mazur and Faustine Noel

Special mention: Kevin Cordon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.