National Women’s Boxing Championship: Nitu shocks Manju Rani

Two-time World youth champion Nitu recorded a shock win over World championships silver medallist Manju Rani to claim her maiden gold medal in the National womenโ€™s boxing championships at the St. Josephโ€™s International School here on Wednesday.

Nitu, who had bagged World Youth titles in 2017 and 2018, outsmarted Manju 5-0 in a well-controlled 48kg final bout to prove herself at the elite stage.

It was a fine performance from southpaw Nitu who relied on her fluid footwork, accurate jabs and follow-up shots to steal points. Railwaysโ€™ Manju could not land enough punches to stop her Haryana rival. โ€œI had my plan ready and I was confident of winning the final,โ€ said Nitu, who won all her bouts with an identical 5-0 margin.

โ€œI used the lockdown well to hone my skills and improve my game with my coach Jagdish Singh at the Bhiwani Boxing Club. It has given results. I have got small targets and the next one is the World championships,โ€ said Nitu.

Boxing World C’ship: Indian boxers continue unbeaten run, Nishant enters 2nd round

Reigning World youth champion Arundhati Choudhary showed her mettle as she defeated Railways boxer Pooja 5-0 to take the 70kg crown.

The gritty and alert boxer from Kota displayed her good ring sense and a fine right jab as she dominated the contest against an experienced rival.

Nikhat Zareen bagged her first National title and was named the Best Boxer.

The results (finals):

48kg: Nitu (Har) bt Manju Rani (RSPB) 5-0; 50kg: Anamika (RSPB) bt Komal (Pun) 5-0, 52kg: Nikhat Zareen (Tel) bt Minakshi (Har) 4-1; 54kg: Shiksha (RSPB) bt Renu (Har) 3-2; 57kg: Sonia Lather (RSPB) bt Manisha Moun (AIP) 5-0; 60kg: Meena Rani (RSPB) bt Jaismine Lamboria (Har) 3-2; 63kg: Parveen (Har) bt Monika (RSPB) 5-0; 66kg: Anjali Tushir (Del) bt Jyoti (RSPB) 4-1; 70kg: Arundhati Choudhary (Raj) bt Pooja (RSPB) 5-0; 75kg: Saweety Boora (Har) bt Bhagyabati Kachari (RSPB) 5-0; 81kg: Pooja Rani (Har) bt Nupur (RSPB) 5-0; 81+: Nandini (RSPB) bt Neha (Har) 5-0.

Team championships: Winner: Railways, Runner-up: Haryana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.