Neeraj Chopra, Mithali Raj and Sunil Chhetri among 11 recommended for Khel Ratna Award

Neeraj Chopra, who bagged gold medal at the Tokyo Olympics, was among the 11 athletes who were recommended for Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award – India’s highest sporting honour.

Boxer Lovlina Borgohain, who won a bronze at the Tokyo Olympics, seasoned hockey goalkeeper PR Sreejesh and woman cricket Test skipper Mithali Raj were also recommended for the Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna by the selection committee.

Sunil Chhetri also became the country’s first footballer to be selected for the honour. Last year, five athletes were picked for the award while four were selected after the 2016 Rio Games.

The announcement of the national sports awards was delayed in order to consider the performance of the para-athletes in the Tokyo Paralympics (August 24 to September 5).

Shooter Avani Lekhara and Manish Narwal, javelin thrower Sumit Antil and shuttlers Pramod Bhagat and Krishna Nagar, who all have won a gold each in the Tokyo Paralympics, completed the list of those recommended for the Khel Ratna.

(With inputs from agencies)

The athletes who have been recommended for the Khel Ratna Award

Neeraj Chopra (Athletics)
Ravi Dahiya (Wrestling)
PR Sreejesh (Hockey)
Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing)
Sunil Chhetri (Football)
Mithali Raj (Cricket)
Pramod Bhagat (Para-Badminton)
Sumit Antil (Para-Javelin)
Avani Lekhara (Para-Shooting)
Krishna Nagar (Para-Badminton)
M Narwal (Para-Shooting)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.