Sindhu, Srikanth, Lakshya to headline Yonex-Sunrise India Open 2022

Newly-crowned World champion Loh Kean Yew, silver and bronze medallists Kidambi Srikanth and Lakshya Sen and the two-time Olympics medallist P.V. Sindhu will be the top draw at the Yonex-Sunrise India Open 2022 scheduled from January 11-16 in New Delhi.

Singapore shuttler Yew, who created history in Spain by becoming the first-ever unseeded player in the open era to win the World Championships, will lead the international line-up in the BWF season opener come 2022.

Former World No. 1 Srikanth has been named the top seed in the menโ€™s singles category, followed by the 2019 World Championships bronze medallist B Sai Praneeth. Sen, the youngest Indian male shuttler to clinch the World Championships medal, HS Pronnoy, Parupalli Kashyap and Sameer Verma are among the other Indian participants alongside experienced Tommy Sugiarto from Indonesia.

Srikanth: World Championship silver medal culmination of years of hard work

World No. 7 Sindhu has been given the top seed in womenโ€™s singles category which includes the London Olympics bronze medallist Saina Nehwal, who lifted the title in 2015 edition, alongside other young Indian shuttlers including Malvika Bansod, Aakarshi Kashyap and Ashmita Chaliha. While among the top international participating names are World No. 12 Busanan Ongbamrungphan of Thailand and Singaporeโ€™s Jia Min Yeo.

List of Indian medallists at badminton world championships

India’s doubles pair of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy will be the key attraction in the menโ€™s doubles category. They will face stiff competition as the line-up includes the three-time world champion and World No. 2 Indonesian pair of Mohammad Ahsan and Hendra Setiawan alongside another Indonesian duo of Fajar Alfian and Muhammad Rian Ardianto, currently ranked eighth in the world.ย ย 

In the womenโ€™s doubles, the World No. 9 pair of Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai from Thailand will be among the top names as Ashwini Ponappa and N Sikki Reddy will lead the Indian challenge alongside pair of Gayatri P and Treesa Jolly.

The 11th edition of the World Tour Super 500 tournament, which is all set to make a return after a two-year break due to the COVID-19 pandemic, will be played at the KD Jadhav Indoor Hall at the Indira Gandhi Stadium under strict COVID protocols and without spectators.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.