Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2021? Full voting results, stats, list of award winners

The 2021 Heisman Trophy all comes down to this.

The votes have been tallied from each of the 870 voting media members, 57 living Heisman winners and one vote conducted by the college football fandom at large to determine who among college football’s several thousand players is the most outstanding.

Those players have been whittled down to just four: finalists Quarterback Bryce Young of Alabama; defensive end Aidan Hutchinson of Michigan; quarterback Kenny Pickett of Pitt; and quarterback C.J. Stroud of Ohio State.

MORE: College football fans unhappy with 2021 Heisman finalists

Each of those players has had incredible seasons and Heisman moments to match. For Young, those moments came in the Iron Bowl โ€” when he led the Crimson Tide on a 97-yard game-tying touchdown drive to keep the team’s College Football Playoff hopes alive โ€” and in the following week, when he carved up Georgia’s vaunted defense to lead Alabama to the SEC championship.

Hutchinson’s moments came in the biggest stages, when he tallied three sacks apiece against Penn State and rival Ohio State in Weeks 10 and 12, respectively. He had seven combined sacks in his last four outings. Stroud needed only one half for his Heisman moment, dicing Michigan State’s secondary to the tune of 32-of-35 passing for 432 yards and six touchdowns.

Pickett’s moment was slightly controversial โ€” faking a slide against Wake Forest for a 58-yard touchdown run in the ACC championship game โ€” but is no less impressive for that fact.

So, which of those players will take home the hardware from the 2021 Heisman Trophy ceremony? Sporting News has everything you need to know about the eventual winner, including stats and voting breakdown,

MORE: Watch the 2021 Heisman ceremony live with fuboTV (7-day free trial)

Who won the Heisman Trophy in 2021?

Though the votes have been counted, the Heisman Trophy will not reveal its winner until 8 p.m. on Saturday. The Heisman Trust revealed the fifth-through-10th place vote-getters on Thursday. The four finalists in 2021 are Young, Hutchinson, Pickett and Stroud. The fifth-through-10th place vote-getters are, in order:

5. Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama
6. Kenneth Walker III, RB, Michigan State
7. Matt Corral, QB, Ole Miss
8. Desmond Ridder, QB, Cincinnati
9. Jordan Davis, DL, Georgia
10. Breece Hall, RB, Iowa State

Heisman voting results 2021

Finish Player Pos. School Total points 1st 2nd 3rd
1 TBD TBD TBD โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
2 TBD TBD TBD โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
3 TBD TBD TBD โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
4 TBD TBD TBD โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
5 Will Anderson Jr. LB Alabama โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
6 Kenneth Walker III RB Michigan State โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
7 Matt Corral QB Ole Miss โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
8 Desmond Ridder QB Cincinnati โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
9 Jordan Davis DL Georgia โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”
10 Breece Hall RB Iowa State โ€” โ€” โ€” โ€”

Heisman Trophy voting consists of 870 media members, 57 living Heisman winners and one vote from the fans.

MORE: Biggest Heisman Trophy snubs

Heisman Trophy finalists’ stats

  • Bryce Young: 314 of 462 passing (67.9 percent); 4,322 yards; 43 touchdowns to four interceptions; 31 rushing yards, three rushing scores
  • Aidan Hutchinson: 55 total tackles (33 solo, 22 assisted); 15 tackles for loss; 13.5 sacks; two forced fumbles; 10 quarterback hurries; two pass breakups
  • Kenny Pickett: 334 of 497 passing (67.2 percent); 4,319 yards; 42 touchdowns to seven interceptions; 241 rushing yards, five rushing scores
  • C.J. Stroud: 280 of 395 passing (70.9 percent); 3,862 yards; 38 touchdowns to five interceptions

College football award winners 2021

  • Heisman Trophy (outstanding player of the year):
  • Maxwell Award (player of the year): Bryce Young, Alabama
  • Davey O’Brien Award (best QB): Bryce Young, Alabama
  • Doak Walker Award (best RB): Kenneth Walker III, Michigan State
  • Fred Biletnikoff Award (best WR): Jordan Addison, Pitt
  • John Mackey Award (best TE): Trey McBride, Colorado State
  • Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player): Jordan Davis, DT, Georgia
  • Brono Nagurski (best defensive player): Will Anderson Jr., LB, Alabama
  • Butkus Award (best linebacker): Nakobe Dean, LB, Georgia
  • Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back): Coby Bryant, Cincinnati
  • Rimington Trophy (best center): Tyler Linderbaum, Iowa
  • Outland Trophy (best interior offensive lineman): Jordan Davis, DT, Georgia
  • Lou Groza Award (best kicker): Jake Moody, Michigan
  • Ray Guy Award (best punter): Matt Araiza, San Diego State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.